Coming Out of My Hearing Loss Closet

This is a great blog post by Living With Hearing Loss!
Email us to share your story.

Living With Hearing Loss

My father had hearing loss but never discussed it. His mother had hearing loss but pretended she did not. I spent 10 years in denial about my own hearing loss, and then another 10 years hiding it. So how did I become this new person, a hearing health advocate, the Board Chair of Hearing Health Foundation and the writer of a blog entitled Living With Hearing Loss? Here is my story.

I grew up the child of someone with hearing loss. I knew it in a peripheral way – my father wore hearing aids, but they were never seen – always hidden by sideburns grown long for that purpose. He never discussed his hearing loss and went out of his way to hide it. I remember social gatherings where he would disappear only to be found sitting at a table in the corner by himself. I always wondered why…

View original post 807 more words

About entandaudiology

www.entandaudiology.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

